Cognac: The Cognac Interactive Map
Cognac The Cognac Delimited Region
The Cognac production area was delimited by the decree of May 1st, 1909.
Map of Growth Areas
Based on the soil features described by the geologist Henri Coquand in 1860, 6 Cognac growth areas (or crus) were delimited and then ratified by decree in 1938: Champagnes (Grande and Petite Champagne), Borderies, and Bois (Fins Bois, Bons Bois, and Bois à Terroirs), which received these names when the fields were first cleared at the beginning of the 19th century. The Champagne and Borderies center growth areas are most productive.